Ibnu Bohari

Unlimited Wants Vs. Limited Resources

Posted in Curhat by mibnufajar on 23 November, 2010

Sounds familiar ?

It’s the very foundation of economic problem. It’s the reason why we should learn about interest rate, the complex mathematic solution to annuities, about accounting, about debits and credits. It’s why “Economy” major exist.

Unlimited wants vs. limited resources, or scarcity, is a problem that occurred because humans have unlimited things they want, but our earth can only provide a limited resources to fulfill those wants (please note there’s a vast difference between “want” and “need”). That’s why we need economy, to distribute those resources appropriately.

Now, I’m not gonna tell a boring tale about economic theories here.. Just a short quote from my first grade teacher in High School.. Her name is Mrs. Syamsiar. She’s not exactly someone i would call a “model teacher” (in other word, she’s not that smart and competent), but there’s this one quote that I remember to this very day. It’s when she explained to us about the aforementioned scarcity. She was saying,

“Actually, it’s not resources that’s unlimited. There were more than enough goods for all of us. What’s limited is our MONEY, right ?”

Yep, just like that she attack the most fundamental economic problem. Adam Smith would wake up from his grave just by hearing the sentences. Of course i resent her and her theory.

.

Fast forward to last night, when i realize I had a major debt problem. My shopping spree were uncontrollable thanks to this little plastic card who gives me illusion I have another zero in my bank account balance ( Ok, I definitely exaggerating about how much is my credit card limit if it could add another digit to my saving, but you get the point)

It kinda made me realize that actually, to a certain extend, she was ‘right’ all along. To every person, individually, the so-called “economic problem” is not unlimited wants vs. limited resources.. but unlimited wants vs. limited incomes. Of course in bigger picture, Me and the rest of the world was right and she was wrong.

Back to my problem, I think all I need is some sanity..

I would go as far as saying that I am what I wear (My dear friend Aldre once remind me of that). Sometimes I feel insecure without good clothes (My shopping problem list mostly consists of clothes). I feel like I couldn’t match or compete with others in this harsh social world, where everything is judged by your physical appearances.

People used to tell us it’s about your heart, your inner beauty. What’s most important is that you’re nice. But apparently, now it’s ok being cruel as long as you’re hot. You deserved to be a narcissist cos you’re good looking. It’s acceptable to be a little rude cos you’re rich.

All these things are killing my self esteem. So I need all these clothes to bring me back from the deep well of desperation..

And I blame the society for my credit card bill.

 

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Noxx said, on 24 November, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Nun, kapan ke Zara lagi??? Sepatunya lagi diskon lho!!! *godaan setan*

  2. 20tubuh said, on 25 November, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    nun, we (especially me, coz idk about the others)… accept you to be my friends not because your outfit… not because you’re rich… you’re my friend from 1st grade in college.. and we know that we can’t afford those expensive stuff… and i still want to be your friend… i never say something about it because as long as someone is being nice to me he/she is still my friend.. u still my friend even you use a cheap clothes or shoes or whatever you want to use…

    PS: But if you want to buy that pedro sandals… i’ll accompany you :p

    • mibnufajar said, on 25 November, 2010 at 3:48 pm

      Aww, so sweet. I know you guys do..

      But actually by social world i meant the dating world, ndras. Hehe..

      PS: Dah dapet sandal Pedro-nya, nitip ma temen yg ke Singapur.

      • 20tubuh said, on 29 November, 2010 at 9:17 am

        aw… so.. this was an unused post then… qiqiqiqiqiqiqi…..

      • mibnufajar said, on 29 November, 2010 at 9:19 am

        LOL

        useless, bukan unused. #grammarpolice

  3. perez said, on 25 November, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    bwahahaha, kirain pas baca judul n paragraf pembukanya lu seriusan mo bahas soal ekonomi…ternyata…tetep soal masalah blanjaan lu!

    ckckckck jadi begitu ya….sering ngeksis dg pakaian2 branded itu demi mendapatkan pangeran impian…udah, panjangin aja rambut kamu, sapa tau ada pangeran tampan yg mau jambakin rambutmu demi menyelamatkanmu dari kejombloan 😀

  4. Okit Jr said, on 26 November, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    —ya gapa deh…
    belanja yang banyak..
    kumpulin harta.. nyalon… perbaiki bodi.. –ngepang rambut…
    toh semua emang butuh biaya..

    kalo elu cantik.. sempurna dan kaya..
    insya allah.. pasangan elu gak akan sekelas tapir neng…
    —elu bisa dapetin Thomas Djorgi gw rasa..

    • mibnufajar said, on 29 November, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Based on his avatar on your phone, menurut gw Tapir itu lucu.

    • Natta said, on 12 January, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      gw cantik, tapi ga bisa dapetin Thomas Djorghi…

  5. Sigit Adhi said, on 12 January, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Fashion is a statement.. It shows U how U appreciate Urself… but it doesnt have to be expensive… coba aja longok gerai2 MANZONE, MENSTOP, MANJAM (oops, klo yg ini bkn bwt beli baju yaa 😀 )… banyak jg ko outfit2 yg lucu2 dan ga harus mahal.

    Yah, slama masih bs terkontrol keuanganmu, sih gpp nun… yg penting duitnya ada yg bs ditabung, jd ga terllau ngerasa bersalah walo dah blanja habis2an. hehehe 🙂

  6. anonymous said, on 8 October, 2015 at 9:47 pm

    Excelklent web site you have got here.. It’s hard
    tto find high quality writting like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!


Leave a Reply

